Sanquhar pair, minus digits

Fingers and thumbs left to do

Both hands in progress

Both hands are under way now and I am just waiting now for the four inch needles to arrive from Yarn Bazaar so that the fingers and thumbs can be knitted.

Whilst I am waiting I can make a start on my next pair.  I have been lucky enough to pick up an original Patons and Baldwins glove pattern, like the one featured on the SCRAN website and similar to the design on the tata-tatao website.  This has a full charted alphabet so the gloves can  be personalised in the Sanquhar tradition.

I am also looking forward to receiving copies of traditional patterns supplied by the Scottish Women’s Rural Institute and should I want even more sources then Beth Brown-Reinsel’s  compass and rose design is a work or art.

About clicknknit

I enjoy knitting small intricate pieces with an interest in promoting wearing our art on craft on our hands. Gloves and mitts are the new socks!
This entry was posted in craft, Folk Mitts, Gloves, Sanquhar and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

